Psychiatric appointment

I went to the psychiatrist. There was this guy in the waiting room who kept fidgeting and sniffing, so when I limped in (I’ve pulled a muscle in my leg) it was awkward. The pdoc was 15 minutes late, as usual but when I went in there were 3 people in there. I felt like I was being ambushed but I comparmentalized and stared at the paper clip on the table. Basically the dose has been upped. It’s at 400mg a day, 200mg in the morning and 200mg in the night but now it is at 800mg a day, 400mg in the morning and 400mg in the evening.

I also got my weight measured, this week is a ‘heavier’ week so I was only a few pounds different than last time. The only cause for concern was my blood pressure was a little low. Systolic pressure for me is 105 which is at the low end of normal but is a big drop from the last few times I had my blood pressure done which is the thing they are most worried about so now my dad is worried I’m going to have a stroke and is at this very moment gone out to buy a blood pressure monitor since they think the medication is the cause and since we’re doubling the medication… Better safe than sorry I guess but I still think it’s a bit of a waste of money. Who knew bipolar disorder was so freaking expensive. I don’t know what my diastolic blood pressure was because I forgot and was more focused on the low blood pressure thing. But it means I might have to go off this medication, everyone huff in annoyance.

4 thoughts on “Psychiatric appointment

  1. You had some blood pressure concerns before I think, if I remember correctly, and Dad can use the monitor as well, You were concerned at his as well. So yes, better safe than sorry.

    *hugs* 🙂

    • Yes I was worried it was a little high. It still is but there is no variation in up or down. If it starts to go up it’s doctors straight away for him. But then mine is low so it’s just funny in a horrible sort of way.

      *hugs*

  2. You aren’t kidding about the expensive part. Therapy is $60 a session. Med doc is $200 an appt. Medication is fairly cheap right now…thank goodness but the insurance doesn’t kick in on this stuff until I hit $5000. Um…I don’t have $5000 to spend on this stuff. Sigh. Hang in there. It is better to be safe than sorry.

Leave a Musing...

