Christmas and the end of the world…

As you’ve probably heard, people believe the world is going to end tomorrow.

Why do they think that?

Because that’s when the Mayan calendar runs out. But here’s the thing Mayan’s didn’t take into account leap years (so the extra day) so technically the world should have ended 3,000 years ago. But people are reading into it because the winter solstice is also on that day.

21-12-12-the-assassins-32536155-960-500The red writing makes it look scary, doesn’t it?

But not everyone believes the Mayans were prophesying the end of the world – “it’s clear that although these cultures weren’t prophesying the end of the world: They were forecasting a new era in human history.”

It’s not such a far-fetched idea, if you consider all the new technology nowadays.

Mayan-Calendar-300x263

But still… I think it’s worth scaring people…

69395_421929034540263_168724399_nBut some people have beat me to that…

imagesI wouldn’t worry about a coat.

All I can say is…

326797-mayan-calendar-doomsday-memes-end-of-the-world-predictions-mocked-by-m

But yet, we are still are planning for Christmas. With lovely Christmas trees…

Christmas-Tree 1And the presents…

Christmas-tree-with-presentsPresents are lovely to give and receive. It’s the buying and the choosing which is a pain. Whether you bought enough presents, whether they’ll like it. Is it expensive enough? I bought my brother 4 xbox games, some chocolates and maybe some more things if we go out. I have bought my dad, some sweets, a mug with a pink panther on that says “for when you’re feeling under the weather” and when you put hot liquid inside the panther changes from green to pink, this cuddly penguin which is a character from a book i bought him for his birthday. I bought friends some chocolates. They have probably bought me some things but since I won’t be going back to school, I won’t get them. But when you compare presents, you feel you have to buy more. If I compare my brother’s 4 xbox games to what I have got my dad, I feel I have to spend more. When I look at the chocolates I bought my friends compared to what they bought me, well I have only got one present off a friend and I’m pretty sure that’s sweets so they’re equivelent. With majority of people there is last minute Christmas shopping, mine was going to be on the 22/12/12 with a friend (and her bullied friend) but I can’t go because my dad can’t see and I’m not bothered because I am a little mad at her but also, for this reason:  Christmas-CrowdsImagine the diazepam I’d have to take to survive that…

Or this…

Crowds viewing the Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree

But these aren’t the only Christmas problems…

Tempers flare:

tumblr_mfaywvs0R31rljz38o1_500There are clerical mix ups…

tumblr_mfavecgInV1rmtvu8o1_500Some people don’t want to join in on the fun:

tumblr_mfazadvnVK1raa2coo1_500

But it’s all worth it, for this:

Christmas Smiles 3And for the adults, this:

christmas-partyAnd for everyone, the food:

TRADITIONAL CHRISTMAS FOODThat lovely Christmas dinner, if only we cold reach through the screens.

Let’s not forget the biscuits…

FreeGreatPicture.com-20309-christmas-food

Look out for;

Jonathan_G_Meath_portrays_Santa_ClausSanta…

santa_reindeer_fly_christmasAnd his Reindeer!

Whether you believe in Christmas, don’t believe in Christmas. Whether you have your own special beliefs about Christmas. I wish you all:

happy-holidaysHappy-Holidsays

2 thoughts on “Christmas and the end of the world…

Leave a Musing...

