What my problem is with mobile phones…

So let me use a quote from my favourite comedian:

“Texting I hate. When you’re together in a relationship, fucking amazing like stars colliding. With texting you have to check in. Technology ruins the mystqiue of us all.
Where have you been?
Who knows where I’ve been? Such is the mystery of Howard.
Have you been the cinema?
… Yesss. You don’t know which film though, do you?
Was it star trek?
Hm..”

Another:

“what are you doing?”
“I’m eating a potato.”
“Why did you not put a kiss on the end of that?”
“I’m eating a potato.”
“you need to put a kiss. When you don’t put a kiss that means you don’t love me anymore.”

“I DO LOVE YOU. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH. I DONT KNOW THE ETIQUET. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN I MISS YOU LIKE A RECENTLY SEPRATED SIAMESE TWIN. BUT AT THIS FUCKING MOMENT I AM EATING A SHITTING POTATO.”

SEEEENNNNNNNND.

So that’s what texting has reduced us too. We lose our mystique. We have to check in a lot. Texts have the powers to depress us and elate us. Some people become closer via text. Others get offended. It makes some paranoid, did they send the wrong thing, can any of it be interpreted wrong?

See, at the beginning of a relationship of either the romantic or friendship kind, we’ll text them a lot. Sometimes we’ll even have things to say. But it will eventually end up like me and my niece.
“hi.”  “hello!” “you okay?” “yeah you?” “yes thanks. what you up to?” “not much, you?” “same.”

Is it worth it? No. I love texting. I do. Some texts bring me a lot of joy. Others I just think “is that really necessary?” and others just annoy me. We all now know the tone of texts and sometimes get it completely wrong.

When depressed, texting is quite loathsome. Especially at the weekend. I enjoy being left alone. In solitary confinement as it were. But texting brings me out that whole. Though I’m glad I got my phone back.

4 thoughts on “What my problem is with mobile phones…

  1. starts to type and stops… so I don’t annoy you. 😉 wait, should I type hugs…. hmmm, debates this for a while. I am glad I am not eating a potato now though. Oh darn I forgot to buy licorice when shopping. *pouts*

    oh heck.. *hugs*

    *giggles too*

Leave a Musing...

