Reply to Amber’s blog…

http://sensuousamberville.wordpress.com/2012/11/04/ptsd-followup-treament/

^^^ The blog I am replying to – check it out for this to make more sense.

A year or two ago I went for an MRI because I was getting severe headaches and later found to be migraines but was triggered by iron deficiency anaemia due to recovery from anorexia. Around that sort of time and thereafter my doctor always asked whether I was having moodswings or anything had changed moodwise. Like, even before I went to him with bipolar disorder, well mood swings at the time. At this time he obviously didn’t know much about family life and the stresses I had. So can a smaller hippo (sorry I can’t say the whole name, plus hippo is funnier) be seen in an MRI scan because it would then all fall into place as to why he asked me because obviously a smaller hippo isn’t just indicitive of PTSD, it can indicate other problems. It puzzled me for the longest time why he asked me everytime. But it’ll make sense if this is the reason. Or is there another way that a person can see a problem by a brain scan? is there a giraffe πŸ˜‰ that can indicate mental health issues in the future?

Also how would PTSD manifest itself with bipolar disorder? How can you tell the difference between the two?

11 thoughts on “Reply to Amber’s blog…

      • nods, making sense of panic is more comforting. I know how when a new thing comes along, you want to freak. who wouldnt.

        perhaps understanding how they may be developing, will make them less frightening.

        • I shall answer both comments in one comment πŸ™‚

          first comment: So he could have noticed it? PTSD obviously affects your moods – being depressed and what not. I wish he’d of said something though. But it that question makes a hell of a lot more sense now.

          That is the problem but PTSD would explain why I have insomnia during depression because it’s quite common to have insomnia when manic because of the increase of energy etc but people usually sleep a lot when depressed and it will eventually balance out I suppose. Not that I like to self diagnose but PTSD would explain it and I think that’s a good thing that once everything else and other symptoms are addressed, it’ll vanish. Least that’s something to look forward too.

          Second comment: Well knowledge is power after all πŸ˜‰ I do feel comforted by knowledge of things, even if it is bad because I think the unknown with these illnesses is the scariest thing in many cases.

          *hugs* πŸ™‚

  1. So right now a brain scan will not diagnose an illness. It can determine, likelihood of depression. Having a previous scan to show size changes would help, but we don’t often have scans. With PTSD there is a strong link, the size of the hippocampus is usually smaller. Cortisol erodes it, stress triggers the release of Cortisol.

    so perhaps your Doctor noticed this. Munchkin, stress from your childhood is a classic example.

    so ptsd and bipolar, ptsd is often accompanied with a disorder, as I said in my blog. but it complicates the disorder, mixing up some of the symptoms, increasing the strength of some, adding others. PTSD can be misdiagnosed, this happens when, during analysis, things are concealed. Often the first questions will lead one to explore the possibility of an event that may trigger it. Some don’t know they had an event, or that it may be bothering them.

    PTSD, too, is accompanied with insomnia. Bad insomnia, this too has, as I keep saying, drastic results on the body, and physically on the brain. So this too becomes something that will change, increase and add to symptoms.

    Once each is addressed, other symptoms that have you freaking out, will probably just vanish.

    smiles and hugs

  2. He may have noticed a smaller hippocampus, which would make him ask those questions. It is not necessarily a sign of PTSD, on going depression would also cause it, and or anxiety, any stressful situation that is ongoing. such as abuse. Panic attacks are tied to this strongly too.

    In a stressful situation, cortosol is released. This is the fight or flight hormone. This and adrenalin. Cortosol erodes the hippocampus, which has the sensors to release serotonin to calm you, because it is “damaged”, panic continues when you should be relaxing.

    does that make sense a bit?

    PTSD would explain many of the things that are tormenting you. You read the list of things it can trigger on my post. voices, anger, guilt, low self esteem, crying, depression…

    Now I said from the start, I can’t and won’t diagnose via a blog post, However, I sense you are freaking out a bit more, and like I said, who wouldn’t. Knowing why this could be happening, though not comforting so to speak, actually may be a bit. Now again, it doesn’t mean you may have PTSD. I also discourage self diagnosis, because of fears it could generate.

    • I didn’t think he’d straight away go “you’re going to have PTSD” but yes, I though depression, anxiety etc was a possibility.

      Yeah that makes sense, I thought that was part of the problem – the flight or fight system – it was overworked when I was young so it makes sense. Now it’s just normal teenage worked (well from outside factors, inside factors – meaning mental illness it is still overworked, bless it)

      I’ll have a look for that blog later tonight or tomorrow, I am going to revise for maths using the internet (though I hate doing that) but needs must and all that.

      I’m not freaking out, just mildly bewildered, pondering the possibility of it. I know, neither of us want to diagnose, I felt it was a possibility when I was researching bipolar disorder when my GP first said it ad accidently came across it. But I always thought: “I couldn’t have that. How could I?” I dno, just kinda said I couldn’t have it, made other excuses for everything else. But thanks for being truthful to me but in a nice way πŸ™‚

      *hugs*

Leave a Musing...

